Sources for Storybook Houses - Restoration & Design for the Vintage House | Old House Online
Looking for castle doors, diamond windows, massive iron gates, chimney pots, storybook wallpaper, medieval Tudor lighting, or a thatched roof? Here you go!

STORYBOOK DESIGN, BUILD

Celtic Gardens celticgardens.com Old-world landscape and garden design/build by designer John Cullen.

O’Donnell Custom Homes odonnellcustomhomes.com Design, build, finish work, and cabinetry for custom Storybook homes.

Storybook Homes storybookhomes.com Original picturesque designs in their Storybook Collection, as well as custom home design; full working plans, specifications etc. provided.

STORYBOOK DOORS, WINDOWS

Belisle Ancestral Doors & Windows belislewindows.com All-wood doors & windows including casements in historic French styles.

Carriage House Door Co carriagedoor.com Garage doors & driveway gates in Victorian & Old World styles.

The Hyland Studio hylandstudio.com Glass studio/restoration firm offers old-world styles, diamond-pane windows.

The Iron Door Store theirondoorstore.com Custom iron doors in Craftsman, Spanish, Italian & “Tolkien” styles.

STORYBOOK ROOF SPECIALTIES

Bartile bartile.com Modern roofing tile simulating slate, clay tile, split timber roofs; storybook textures & custom solutions.

Copper Exclusive copperexclusive.com European-trained artisans specializing in copper (zinc, steel, etc.) roofing & wall cladding, exterior ornamentation

Copper Summit Inc. coppersummitinc.com Copper cupolas, awnings, domes, finials, chimney pots in old English and French styles

Custom Shingles customshingles.com Decorative wood shingling including steam-bent wood “thatch,” aka Storybook or Hobbit roofs.

EJM Copper Inc. ejmcopper.com Architectural copper (aluminum, brass, zinc, steel) including European-style cupolas, spires, gutters

Endureed endured.com Natural-look, fireproof & wind-rated synthetic thatching materials

Hans Liebscher Copper Works hanscopper.com Old-world roofs, gutters, domes, ornament.

Huber & Associates huberroofing.com Historic roof restoration, from sheet metal & clay to thatch

McGhee & Co. Roof Thatchers thatching.com Roofer creating English roof thatching with a life expectancy of 60 years

Ornametals ornametals.com Old-world-style copper & zinc gutters, metal ornaments, finials, weathervanes, chimney caps

Renaissance Roofing claytileroof.com Restoration of historic roofing systems; inventory of materials

Roofing Artisans roofingartisans.com Design & installation of steam-bent or wave-coursed roofing (“wood thatch”); also specialists in slate, metal, cedar, copper roofs.

Sheldon Slate Products Co. sheldoneslate.com Slate product specialists producing old-world roofing, flooring, wall facing, landscape elements, signage & more.

Superior Clay Corp. superiorclay.com Distinctive chimney pots plus fireplaces, wood bread ovens.

STORYBOOK MILLWORK, FLOORING

Homestead Timber Frames homesteadtimberframes.com True handcraft for timber-framed structures Kellogg Hardwood Lumber kellogghardwoods.com Wide-plank flooring in North American and exotic species

STORYBOOK MASONRY, CAST STONE

Chicago Antique Brick & Stone cbsantique.com Midwest supplier of antique brick, masonry, veneer, pavers Eldorado Stone eldoradostone.com High-end manufactured interior, exterior stone products including a river-rock veneer Gavin Historical Bricks historicalbricks.com Reclaimed brick & stone shipped nationwide Old Carolina Brick handmadebrick.com Fine hand-molded bricks to match restoration projects

STORYBOOK LIGHTING, METALWORK

Hans Duus Blacksmith handduusblacksmith.com Heirloom custom lighting fixtures inspired by ancient designs.

Hess Ornamental Iron hessiron.com Design & handcraft of iron, brass & other metal railings & fences.

Iron Lock Imports ironlockimports.com Medieval-style iron hardware forged in the Austrian Alps.

King Architectural Metals kingmetals.com Fanciful balusters, ornamental castings, finials, rails & more in all metals.

Mica Lamps micalamps.com Old-world collections include ‘Iron Abbey’ and ‘Storybook Lighting’; work in iron and copper.

Steven Handelman Studios stevenhandelmanstudios.com Custom wrought-iron lighting & metalwork in styles including Gothic, French Norman & Storybook Tudor.

Vintage Lights vintagelights.com Selling only vintage (antique) fixtures, searchable by decade or style; many Storybook designs.

Wiemann Metalcraft wiemannironworks.com Custom design and metal work including balconies and stairs, entry doors, gates.

STORYBOOK DECORATIVE ELEMENTS

Tudor Artisans Design tudorartisans.com Old English architectural details in authentic materials: leaded glass, carved stone, millwork, steel casements, paneling, crests, hardware, lighting & more.

Trustworth Studio trustworth.com Specialist in reproducing quaint Voysey-designed wallpapers with names including ‘The House That Jack Built’, ‘Hey Diddle Diddle’, ‘The Fairyland’, ‘Four And Twenty’, and ‘I Love Little Pussy’.

STORYBOOK LIFESTYLE

Chess Baron chessbaron.com Themed chess sets including one based on Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit stories.

Creative Home Engineering hiddenpassageway.com Custom secret door systems, not just for safety but also whimsy.

Medieval Collectibles medievalcollectibles.com Medieval & Gothic clothing, footwear—and reenactment-worthy wearable suits of armor.

Related Articles

Products of the Week

1_gallery_custom1

Unico System

A central heating and cooling system using "aspiration" technology to warm and cool homes evenly and quietly with flexible small ducts that weave through ceilings, walls, and even floors.

nostalgic-warehouse-parthenon-deadbolt

Nostalgic Warehouse

Classic-style door hardware, engineered for new construction or historic renovation, lacquer-coated, solid brass, patterned after original antique hardware, passage, privacy, mortise lock, or dummy sets and cabinet hardware and accessories.